From ‘Cole: Week Two Response

I KNOW I’m supposed to talk about Action Bronson. And believe me, there’s lots to say about the “white man excelling at a white sport” but…I just HAVE to make most of this week about Party Supplies.

Party Supplies

The sampling on this track is BRILLIANT. Ugh. The choices were best because a) the 80’s were just long enough ago that the samples can seem fresh and new to a host of listeners, although some kids may have a sense of John Mellencamp from Jessica Simpson when she used that sample from “Jack and Diane.”

(Not NEARLY as successfully, I might add.) And b) the frequency of the sample changes creates a sense of constant movement and change which is, of course, such a huge part of our zeitgeist.

Very few things stay the same. I think that’s what Party Supplies is trying to say in this track–things seem like they change all the time. But the use of 80’s samples makes a point of the opposite– the same things come back time after time. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

The sample choices were interesting to me…I did some research to see if there was anything in common with them. “Jack & Diane” was Mellencamp’s most celebrated single, and was a hit in 1982, “Sussudio” and “Another Day in Paradise” were both Phil Collins, and were released in 1985 and 89, respectively. There’s seriously nothing that they have in common other than that they are all number one 80s singles.

I think that doesn’t take away from the song. I think that’s beautifully post-post-modern. Sometimes the only thing that things have in common is the time they are in– that, and that they are unrelated.
But I also think since they’re all number ones makes Action Bronson seem like even more of a badass because he has an amalgam of #1’s so he can become #1.

On to the rap.
The thing that stuck out to me most was when Action pauses and lets Phil Collins take over the track–so brilliant. It’s almost interactive in a sense– he’s not just letting the beat and the melody stay in the background, but brings it to the foreground and blends it with his rhyme, which I’ve only heard once before, done by K Dot. And you KNOW that comparison is a good thing.

Bronson

Bronson himself is fun, his flow is steady, but I feel like his lyrics could use more substance. But I know that the track isn’t necessarily about the message. In fact, the medium is the message.

Good choice Sky. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

