From Sky: Week Four Response

EVERYTHING PUSHA T!

I have to thank you first off–I had been meaning to listen to Hell Hath No Fury for a while now. It further reaffirms my love of Pusha T… and Pharrell… but we’ll get to him in a minute.

Now, straight up, this track. I mean… damn. Okay, let’s start with the verses.

There are two lines that are absolutely brilliant in Pusha T’s opening verse. The first, “Who gonna stop us? Fuck the coppers! The mind of a kilo shopper / Seeing my life through the windshields of choppers”. It took maybe two or three listens before I really grasp the complete aspect of this one. I think it’s pretty common to associate the word ‘choppers’ with various things. It could refer to massive guns, motorcycles, or helicopters… or a really white middle class male as described in this wayyy out there UrbanDictionary entry(just for fun):

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Chopper&defid=3948552 .

When I first heard it I was thinking firearms, probably due to Pusha’s ‘Million’ track on his Wrath of Caine mixtape that came out at the beginning of last year. The line didn’t make sense, as there’s no ‘windshields’ on any type of guns. The next listen I thought of it as motorcycles. It kind of made sense, but since I had never seen Pusha on a motorcycle, or rather any rapper for that matter. Illuminati? I didn’t find myself too impressed with the line. It was another listen or two before I thought to equate it to helicopters. The line begins with ‘Who gonna stop us? Fuck the coppers!’ This got me thinking of police chases and shoot outs with the cops (thank’s Biggie) which when viewed from that perspective can show a real rank in power and classicism. Here we have the police following someone, or ones, that is probably resisting arrest and refusing to pull over. Here we have the police covering the LA Riots from above. (Although Pusha and Malice are from Virginia, the LA riots would still be an event that would have been very angering as well as empowering for men of their age). Here we have the police following a young black male as he jumps fence after fence in an attempt to evade the authorities… in a helicopter. The police had the power and the resources and the technology to patrol from the skies; to have complete authority over. On the flip side, however, helicopters can be the epitome of luxurious. Flying in on your own private chopper to the hotel in Miami. Flying in your chopper and impressing two or three prospective hook-up hoodrats. Either way, both of those scenarios are accompanied by Dom Pérignon. From up here Push is above all them others in the hustle game, both metaphorically and literally. Mind blown.

The next line is more straight forward. As a mater of fact, it couldn’t be more straight forward: “The realest shit I ever wrote, not Pac inspired / It’s crack pot inspired.” Pusha is saying that his lyrics are not inspired or influenced by others in the rap game, including the legendary 2Pac, but rather inspired by the life of a cocaine manufacturer and dealer. It is him. It is his life. This correlates well with ‘Mr. Me Too’, actually…but we’ll get there. I don’t have a lot to say about this line. I think it is Pusha’s delivery of it also really hit the line home.

All in all, Pusha illustrates the life of drug dealer reminiscing how he made it from the projects to the luxury of helicopters and excess. In many ways it seems oddly motivational. So selling kilos (KEYS) of cocaine can lead you to (OPEN DOORS) a glorious life full of extravagance. There’s your answer.

I dig it.

Malice furthers the idea of drug dealing being a way to acquire wealth. “The kids are happy, the perfect picture”, he spits, painting the image of the future that can be lead by escaping the hood. There’s really just one line that really hits me as brilliant in Malice’s verse: “Throw it on the scale, feed your God damn self / Get it how you live, we don’t ask for help”–the first line. The delivery is powerful. Malice says get your coke and sell it if you need to survive if there’s no other way and that you are responsible for you, and shouldn’t except help from others to survive. Much like he describes in the ‘Intro’ to Lord Willin’. That’s right, I did my listening. Powerful stuff.

No Malice

Now… ‘Mr. Me Too’.

Don’t get me wrong. I get it. I understand the meaning of the title, as it is a nickname dubbed to a hater who is constantly comparing himself to Pharrell, Push or Malice, by mimicking their style and making the same monetary acquisitions. Benzs, yo. But I don’t know if I like… it, the phrase. I was impressed by Pharrell’s rap. I really like his slow and melodic tone and flow. I also get he was behind the majority of the production on the album as well. I don’t have any problems with the verse’s, I even kind of admire Pharrell when he spits the meaning of the title on the tracks’s bridge, or his cheeky line about him and Sean. Puff. Diddy. Whatever the fuck we’re calling him now.

Pusha’s verse doesn’t stand out to me at all, and it is the same with Malice, with one exception. Malice’s last line, “Tomorrow ain’t promised so we live for the moment”, really helps to further illustrate the luxury he’s living in. He’s living like each day was his last. But… I don’t care for the track too much. It was their first single off the album, which could account for the substitution of substance for catch. Shots fired.

However you were right. It was awesome to watch blitzed. And I admit it would be a dope song to grind to in the club. #YOLO

-S

Leave a Reply

