From Sky: A Response to Week Fourteen’s Response

Part of me regrets not using this track as my pick, but I can use it here so it’s all good. Peep it.

“If Pirus and Crips all got along / They’d probably gun me down by the end of this song / Seem like the whole city go against me” – Kendrick Lamar, “m.A.A.d. City”

Crips vs. Bloods –> C vs. B –> Compton as compared to Bompton.

YG is a blood who’s just bickin back being bool.

YG

What I find really amazing about My Krazy Life is that it’s like the flip side to Kendrick Lamar’s Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City. Kendrick was the good kid. The kid in a neighborhood that wasn’t his (to see Sherane).

“Man down, where you from, nigga?”
“Fuck who you know, where you from, my nigga?”
“Where your grandma stay, huh, my nigga?”
“This m.A.A.d city I run, my nigga”

Again from “m.A.A.d. City”.

YG is the guy who would have been on the other end of Kendrick’s journey to Sherane’s.

“I’m two blocks away, 250 feet
And six steps from where she stay, she waving me ‘cross the street
I pulled up a smile on my face, and then I see
Two niggas, two black hoodies, I froze as my phone rang”
-from “Sherane a.k.a. Master Splinter’s Daughter”

“Kendrick Lamar’s album he’s sayin’ basically he was always around that, his friends, his cousins, his homeys was always doin’ that, so he was always around it,” YG told MTV News of the sprinkles of Cali gang culture that fuel MTV’s Hottest MC MC K-Dot’s good kid, m.A.A.d city LP. “I’m saying I do it, I’m in it. That’s the difference.”

That’s a quote from an MTV article titled “YG To Chronicle Life As Bad ‘Kid’ In Kendrick Lamar’s m.A.A.d city“.

YG is so Blood that he ain’t even gonna call it Compton. To him, it’s Bompton. It always will be.

Leave a Reply

